h1

cant beat a sunday bbq

June 4, 2007

especially when its mighty sunny. Scotty and I had a mad rush round yesterday morning giving the house a quick clean up. Mum and dad popped over to give us a hand with the loft ladder and a blind for the bedroom. Now we can get up the loft with no problems and we have a new slatty blind in the bedroom which means I can get dressed of a morning without worrying that i’ve just pulled a moonie at the neighbours. Infact it was so dark this morning in our bedroom I was wondering if it was still the middle of the night. Except the alarm went off and reality hit, damn.

Anyway I was talking about yesterday. My parents are always great at helping out, I try not to ask too much of them but as they have already done the same for my brother and sister they feel obliged and who am I to refuse help in doing the DIY I loathe. This is why we bought a new house instead of an old one. Best investment ever.

So after DIY dad came to the rescue we all headed over my brothers house for a bbq. It was warm, sunny and all the kids were running around. Idylic. Managed to eat WAY too much. To the point that the starter which was mighty tasty of spicy butternut squash soup decided it disliked me. I’m very very glad my brother only lives around the corner from me at the moment. I did not drink but my tummy was very upset from the chilli in the soup. I’m fine now, not sure quite what went on but I did the olympic toilet dash once the door to our house was open. Thank goodness for a ground floor loo.

Most memorable moment of the day: Izzy and Tommy sitting in their high chairs eating soup and garlic bread.  “dip dip dip” they said together as they stuffed their faces. Followed by “yum yum yum” once eaten. How come small kids can make the simple things seem the cutest.

Leave a Reply

