h1

personal space

June 18, 2007

Although I’m completely recovered now tiredness and long journeys make me cranky. On Saturday on the way back we stopped off for the second time at Stanstead service area. I dislike them at the best of times, full of aimless people bumbling around too busy looking at the wall to move across two inches so that you can walk past.

By now I bet you can picture the scene, tired, hungry, nursing a lurking hangover and minimal sleep from a hotel bed for two days I needed hot food so burger king it was. I stood in the queue waiting and a large man with his two daughters stood behind me. Now I’m not the sort to go off the rails, I move side ways, round or stick my elbows out to create a smidgen of personal space. I tried all these normal tactics to create at least 6 inches between me and those near me. I like my personal space. I know if I have that space nobody is picking my pockets or trying to sniff me. This guy with his girls, was over 6 foot 4 and had a huge gut. He poked it out, came up as close behind me as he could and shouted at his kids about chewing gum NOT BUBBLE GUM. etc… when he brushed me for around the 5th time even though I had avoided him as much as possible I flipped. Luckily at this point Scott was the other end of the services getting water. I span round and splurged out a fast sharp rant of “will you please give me just a little bit of personal space” My arms flew about and he backed off. The queue moved and I got well out of his way. I wanted to scream, punch, slap and say something like “what you F*ing trying to publicly rape me in front of your kids? can you be any more disgustingly slimy rude obnoxious putrid and creepy? I can feel your voice via you touching me let alone hear the booming sh*te coming from your offensive down right ugly cake hole”

Yet I don’t. I never do, I calm down, move on and have strange nightmares about being oppressed. Today I went around tescos to get the shopping and it was a mere breeze in comparison to the service station. Not just because I’m less tired and generally not stressed from driving. I am amazed at how uptight and what I really wanted to say wanted to be so offensive. I really do think there are some completely insensitive creeps out there who can offend anybodies sensibilities just by breathing. He may be nice but for that moment he was everything I wanted to hate in the world. A very odd moment and one I hope not to repeat. I think it helps that I usually spend most of my life in a nice routine of safeness knowing whom and when I interact with people. I may be more controlled than I look, its for my safety and maybe even yours 😉

oh and my car now reads 010101 on the miles traveled. Binarytastic.

Leave a Reply

