h1

tofu, angst and fluff

July 4, 2007

I could have knocked several blocks off people for general bad management of stuffs. Although I fear saying any more because I know its not my fault, but blathering about work is not really what I’m here for.

What I am here fore is to enjoy the fluff, and who can resist a bunny as fluffy as that. Now I am thoroughly calmed and almost in control of all inevitabilites in the workplace I have just enough break time to tell you what we had for dinner last night.

Thai tofu curry. This is one for the vegans out there like bittersweet.

oil a pan and throw in generous helpings of finely chopped garlic ginger and de-seeded green chilli and fry off until just turning colour. have a selection of medium diced veg at the ready, try and make all veg of a cookable size at the same time. This is my way of making cooking really easy, carrots small, courgette large, pepper medium, button mushrooms whole, spring onions halved.

Throw in the tofu diced (dried on kitchen towel) and the veggies this way they should all cook evenly when thrown in together. stir and fry for a couple of mins until things start sticking. add around half a cup of water, just enough to lift the flavours from the pan and give it a quick steam, do not let it boil dry. Put on lid and steam until starting to go tender. Once veggies are nearly all cooked, add carton of coconut cream (best not be on a diet for that)… and the juice of half a lime. Stir, let it all cook through then use cornflour to thicken at the end. I also added a dash of soy sauce and mushroom ketchup to make a fuller flavour.

I made all that with some Thai rice which I threw some butter in at the end to steam with some more lime juice. Sorry that’s the non vegan bit. I’m sure there are some suitable alternatives out there for the butter.

all in all a very good stuffing full of food, and one for the freezer for lazy days 🙂

One comment

  1. Woohoo, another point for us vegans! 😉
    Sounds wonderful, I’ll certainly try it out some time. Thanks for the ideas; I’m definitely going to investigate this mushroom ketchup, too.



Leave a Reply

