h1

lovely lovely days off

July 25, 2007

Yesterday was spent at home. I made sure all the washing was done and sat around wanting to be productive. I took the plunge and knowing I’ve not got the best sewing skills in the world I took my dress making scissors to my most expensive silk sari. Now it sounds rash, but it sat there for many a year gathering dust and an initial pay out of £50 was quite a bargain in the UK for 5 metres of strong rose pink heavy silk with silver border. I was scared to cut it before but using it was better than it just gathering dust.

I cut 4 peices of Isosceles trapezoid (think whole leg length) to sew together and cut off the top edge which had all the detail. It turned it in to a wrap skirt, and I used the rest of the silver edging for a wide waist band. Now even I’m in awe of how nice it has turned out. There are issues with it because I don’t have an over locker I had to double sew all the seams to fold in all the fraying edges. They wont come out now. Its not pretty on the inside but nobody sees the inside. I used the bottom hem of the sari to use as the bottom hem of the skirt saving me several hours of sewing. I’m so happy with the result I wore it to work today. I’ve had lots of lovely comments about it, but mostly its because the silk is something increadably special that it came out nice. Its one thing I don’t want to repeat though because silk shifts teribly when sewing it. Thank goodness mum gave me a good tip years ago to help it all work; Iron it first, iron in all your creases and folds then it will hold.

I suppose now you need a photo to prove it. I’ll get Scotty to take some when I get home from work and I’ll update this post.(edit) we have photos!

In other news I knitted some more bayerische. They are deffo mits now and not socks, and looking mighty fine too!

shame about the stabby bits…

Oh and anyone want to pull some skin off me? the backs of my shoulders are peeling where I didn’t have coverage. There’s nothing more satisfying than pulling off a sheet of skin, or squeezing spots. I’m fussy which spots I do squeeze but damn they are fun.

One last thing, I LOVE our cat. He was so pleased to see us when we got back. Last night after spending the day with him he decided at bed time he would tell us a story and would not stop squeaking, not meowing. Little squeaks all punctuated and almost like propper words. He was sad as I left this morning and I just wish we could take him to work with us. He would make the best office cat ever.

2 comments

  1. That is a VERY pretty skirt. It suits you.


  2. Hahaha isn’t that funny how women love to pick at stuff like that. I’ll go after my husband and he whines like a baby. haha!



Leave a Reply

