h1

weekends, oh how I wish they were longer.

August 20, 2007

Friday night was great. Very good fun and I love my brothers new house. It rambles. A huge barn with loads of small rooms and a couple of big big rooms. We forgot to take the camera so we have no visual evidence. Their lounge is so big it could echo. Their two normal sofas looked petite in the space. The twins absolutely adore the place. Outside there are 3 small gardens and a woods with a fire pit. Plus inside is a mezzanine, space for a table tennis table, an air hockey table and a football table too. All left behind as part of the house sale. We stayed in the Annex which was basic but livable. staying over was great fun because we stayed up until late and went out to look at the stars in the dark.

I cant remember ever seeing so many. Laying back on damp grass has never been so cool.

The kids were so cute running round the new place. We spent some time with them Saturday morning before we took a slow drive home. We watched some heroes and did some housework and thought about having a nap because I did not sleep well.

Sunday was a lovely homely day with a roast dinner and I even baked a cake. It was a bit stodgy because I’ve only got bread flour in, and I had no baking powder or anything to give it any lift. instead I tried with eggs and tonic water. I don’t know what possessed me but I believe that the bubbles in it may have helped. It turned out loads nicer than I expected. I put pineapple in the bottom to make it pineapple upside down cake. I made some soft toffee fudgey topping for it too. Mighty tasty.

We also finished the entire first series of Heroes. I loved it, every moment. I want more and I want it now. They have left so many things unanswered it becomes frustrating becase I NEED to know. Does Hiro save everyone? does Sylar blow up? gargh. *sigh* I’m even tempted to try and buy extra channels to make sure I can see it as soon as it comes out. I bet they make it US only.

Mum and Dad have a moving date of 29th of this month. I keep thinking everyone around me is changing, they’re all busy and I’m staying still but it has made me busy too. Trying to plan a trip to London but that looks like October time now. Apart from that all is good in the hood as some might say. I have Friday off and lots planned for next weekend too!

7 comments

  1. You should coincide your trip to London with the Knitting & Stitching show at Ally Pally! A group of us are going to it on the Saturday.


  2. WHAT? WHEN?
    I never hear about these things! I’d love to.


  3. ooo-Heros. I don’t have a telly( in your lingo) so I’m waiting for the DVD set to come out at Blockbuster. They have this awesome deal where you can rent TV shows for 1.99 for 7 days. Thats almost as good as the library- which is FREE, but they have crap to watch. Not the stuff I want, the stuff I NEED.


  4. thats not a bad deal. Our library is not free. Its £2.50 per week rental and they do have some stuff but its usually all out until its out of fasion. I used to be like that I had no telly at home until Scotty moved in with me. Now we have a mac in the bedroom as a telly *oh the decadance* 🙂

    I’m signed up to heroes updates on rss feeds to keep me addicted.


  5. No kidden? the library charges to take out movies? Ours use to only let you check out movies for 3 days but then they fired the knuckle head who made up that draconian rule and they went to much more reasonable 7 days loan. Do you like sci-fi or did just Heros get your interest?


  6. Used to love star trek. Love a good sci-fi book. generally I’m more geek than knitter but I’m sure I can ballance both.
    I’ll search out a small jar and see what I can do. Mail me your address to jiva at jiva dot me dot you kay


  7. Oh, you don’t have too, I know postal rate would send you to the poor house! I’m just enjoying yaking at yah! Oh, I love Star Trek, old and new. Have you seen the web site scifichick.com ? She has lot about movies, books and stuff. Here’s my email, might be easier to yak without commenting- knitfrau at sio dot midco dot net



Leave a Reply

