h1

enjoyment and recovery

September 3, 2007

Friday night we had some friends stay over. Only 3 which is about all we can cope with. It was nice, once they got to our house we went out and got a curry in town then came home to drink more. Erasmus was pure entertainment the whole time and he has gained more fans. He just appears to perform for guests, jumping in and out of a bag and mewing on command. He knows when he’s the star of the show. All friends left with a jar of chutney. we’re getting down it now, and I just cant resist not letting people leave without something to remember us by!

Saturday was beer recovery day. I knitted and got some washing done.

Sunday I cooked and did some more washing and knitting. Also went to tescos on an empty stomach. Oh dear. I’ve bought all the wrong things and they are DELICIOUS… there goes the lb’s back on I lost. *sigh*  We were going to go see mum and dad at thier new house but after ironing 7 shirts and doing all the rest of the general stuff that NEEDED doing we ran out of time. What we did do was cook marrow, now I do like stuffed marrow but I didn’t fancy that. What I can reccomend is small chunks breadcrumbed and fried. That with chutney goes down great.

/start knitting content

The bayerische mitts are coming along nicely. If I get time I may finish them soon. One is now complete with thumb. I’m very impressed with the end product. I had to get creative with the top of the glove and with the thumb. The top is a mirror of the increases at the bottom with decreases instead and the thumb may not be explainable. I sort of picked up stitches to fill holes and made it up as I went along to achieve something that does not look out of place. I casted off as loose as I could to allow movement in the top and I may have done it just a little too loose but it still looks great. The thumb is cast off just right although I would if repeating still have two more stitches in the round than I finished because it becomes quite a tight fit.

I started listening to a pod cast on knitting. I looked them up on itunes and Brenda of cast on is an absolute scream. I wanted to start at the beginning and it has been a bit strange hearing about Christmas 2004 on my walk in to work. I have on several occasions burst out laughing in public whilst walking. Trying to compose myself, I’m sure I look like a complete loon but I would recommend it to anyone who wants a light hearted look at knitting. I also listened all the way round the supermarket the other day and it made the whole shopping experience much better. Brenda appears to be the most downloaded on itunes, this is why I chose her. I will start looking at others but not until I’ve got a bit more up to date with hers.

/stop knitting content

This week is officially now 7 years in the same job. Make from this what you will: *itch itch*

Leave a Reply

