h1

malaisonaise

September 26, 2007

ok the plan was to get some nice video done, chop it up and post it out there. But on my search to find other materials that have done similar I came across better people than I that have done what I was going to do. IF I get around to improving on my work so far, I need an angle, a way to be different from what is out there already or the idea will not take off and I’m just adding more bumf to the Internet with no decent purpose. Then I started pulling apart the work I did so far and

1, its fuzzy, the yarn and needles are too small to show technique

2, no sound because I’ve not scripted or done anything to make it clear.

3, I need a dark background and a hat with a web cam and torch in it.

4, I keep my thumb in front of the stitches on the left needle WAY too much.

5, a decent microphone because nearly all the stuff out there already has TERRIBLE sound. It is understandable JUST but trying to listen to an American accent that’s drowned by bad encoding makes watching knitting videos almost impossible to concentrate on and therefore less watchable.

Overall I’m glad I tried the experiment. Best of all would be a monthly or weekly video knitting pod cast but so far I’ve found someone else who already does that, way better than I ever could. I don’t want my face or voice on camera, just my hands because I’ve come to the conclusion before I don’t want to be famous, I just want to help people. This is going to take a lot more thinking about before I do anything else with it. More prep, more ideas, more time. What I do want to do now is link all the stuff from here that would be useful to others. Hopefully that will be my next post.

2 comments

  1. (evilstevie stole the laptop for this)
    how about getting a webcam on a tripod over your shoulder, with a couple of desktop lamps either side to illuminate the knitting? either knit on a dark blanket over your knees or a black skirt for the contrast, and use an external microphone for the sound, not a webcam-built-in jobbie (never really had good results from them myself), possibly even record a narration track to overdub while you watch the video through.


  2. great ideas. but it all smacks of hard work 😉 One day maybe but first I’ll concentrate on getting my knitting done before instructing anyone else.



Leave a Reply

