h1

in which jiva achieves but also rants

January 17, 2008

yeah I’ve been doing stuff. I just feel that I’m updating for the sake of it or I’ve done too much and cant remember it. SO here is a sorry attempt at keeping you up to date. If you like rants skip to the last paragraph, if you dont, skip that instead.

My brothers’ birthday present and twins presents are sorted. yay!

Entertainment for our wedding is under progress. I’ve found a corsetiere in Norwich that looks great, and hopefully even though I’ve booked another appointment in London, will save me lots of extra travel and cost. I’ve started a small wedding note book. Just a pain old wire bound note book with Clare 4 Scotty written on the front. I’ve stapled and sellotaped things inside it like my dress silk, card contacts and little magazine dress snippets. I’ve made notes of when I’ve paid things and what needs to be done. At least then even as a rough record I will have tangible evidence that I yes ME fizzle head blond can and will organize her own wedding. Its not rocket science, I don’t know what has changed from before. Before I was scared of doing it, now I’m not, I’m ready and waiting for it all to come my way.

The socks are coming along with a fair bit of ripping back and knitting on and ripping back etc. Its the calf increases which will completely add to the design as well as everything else. It all changes in my mind on a regular basis. I’ve found the general rule of thumb for calf increasing in knitting knee length socks is……

one stitch increase every 3 or 4 rows. At the moment I’m doing increase round then 3 rounds. Also increasing just one stitch in to the back of the leg is almost impossible to get neat and tidy on every other increase. The pain is the extra stitch is not in between others as such, one increase is, the next has to be nestled in and hidden as a one stitch made in to two instead of a normal make on after or before a stitch. Most confusing, even to the point of making up a stitch I’ve not seen before “Purl back purl front” which sort of adds an almost even extra stitch but it will hopefully look better once washed and blocked and not so…. whats the word… wonky.

Le sigh

Finally I finished the mitts for my colleague all bar the ends being weaved in and she has requested mitten covers to make them in to mittens.. fair enough, I’ve not done that before. I’ll try it once I get a bit more knitting mojo, right now I have 4 items lurking in my knitting back never nearing completion and starting to eat away at the back of my mind saying rip me or eat me!

Oh one more minor thing, something I have to cope with on a daily basis at work. PEOPLE HANGING UP. Now phone calls are most of my day, having my phone blip once, maybe twice and hang as I pick it up is slowly driving me nutty, quite twitchy and generally almost stabby. PLEASE if you ever do call me, wait, I’ll be there, 99.9% of the time within 3 rings, I’m THAT good at keeping up with my phone. I know I have call divert between numbers which may not help but perrrrLEASE if I have to answer another hang up call again today (5 already) I’m going to hunt down that phone via the analog line, pulling all the cables out and personally use the cable to knit a new noose for the perpetrator hang them and then hang up on them.

OK rant over, sorry. Normal non foetal positions can now be resumed.

3 comments

  1. if you need ought designery or arty doing for your wedding your welcome to my free services x


  2. I’m not convinced Rebecca Spragge will be the best choice for entertainment. Much better to have her involved in the dress.


  3. hahaha nice one Mary!
    Alaina, god yes, any good at stationary?
    think along the lines of the blue fabric for design of cards 😉



Leave a Reply

