h1

I had a wonderful

February 7, 2008

birthday, if a bit tired.  We let the kitties out in to the lounge as soon as we got them in on Thursday night. Then just before we went to bed we let them have the run of the whole house. This was good for them because they could explore at their leisure in the dark at night. They were well settled by the morning but we woke up lots of times to the sounds of running paws, little chirrups and meows and them jumping all over us. This is why I was tired all day on my birthday.

Scotty and I went to the registrars office in the morning and successfully signed to prove our intent for marriage. Instead of staying out we went to a deli and bought lunch and birthday cake and came home to watch more spaced and laze about. We did get out again in the afternoon and went to the pet shop to get a large carrier for our boys. I thought about going out for a drink or something to celebrate but I was happy at home and by this point both cats were sleepy and relaxing on the sofa with us.
You’re probably going to hear and see a lot about Jasper and Otis in the next few months. They are still very much kittens at only 10 months old. Already in to everything and enjoying the freedom compared to the kennel they were in for a few months. They are eating fine and using the litter fine. Jasper manages to paw the wall and the bin instead of scraping the litter. Its quite funny to watch because he sits upright. waving at himself in the stainless steel bin.

I woke up last night at one stage with Otis purring in my face with his head on my arm wedged in-between me and scotty. He made me jump a little but he had such a happy face and happy to say hello at 4am, almost ecstatic that I was awake and could play. I turfed him off gently. I’m hoping they soon learn that the bed is rest area not play area.

Erasmus is in no way forgotten but it does feel a bit like fate sometimes. These little guys needed a home desperately and because they have moved from the foster care, two more cats can be saved and be ready for the next home. Otis and Jasper would not have taken to Erasmus, and as he was 5 he may not have taken to other cats. They do not seem at all phased by the smells of another cat about the house, although we have washed as many of the toys and sheets and blankets that we can. All in all I’m amazed at how well these little fellas are settling down and it eases my feelings making me more sure that we did just the right thing.

4 comments

  1. ‘I’m hoping they soon learn that the bed is rest area not play area.’ – when you work out how to do this can you let me know?? ginny still thinks bed is a place for her to dig and discover!


  2. So your idea of waiting until after you’re married and done the honeymoon thing just went flying out of the window

    🙂


  3. Well, I suspect looking after Jasper and Otis will prove to be good karma. I’m not sure that Scotty will agree entirely with your sentiment that “the bed is rest area not play area”, though! 😉


  4. haha Ian, very good point… I’ve found moving toes under sheets is an area for cat attack. I think we’ll shut them out if we get up to anything.



Leave a Reply

