h1

bonus!

March 6, 2008

radical! dude!

and that is enough of the surfer type cheerful affirmations. Firstly I ventured in to the lands of EBay selling, like I said before. Both the items I listed sold. (insert dance here) and for a reasonable price (insert grin here).

I’ve sent both items off this morning and for the first time ever my pay pal account has a floating balance that I just cant wait to spend. Still I’m holding on to it for now until inspiration comes my way but I can tell it may just soon be spent on knitting stuffs which wont help the wedding fund. Really it should all go in to the wedding fund as the squeezebox was Scotty’s and I now have the money (insert evil laugh here).

Last night I said goodbye to my wedding dress silk. I took it to the dress maker. Next time I see it, it will be cut in to bits and shaped to form a dress for me. Its all just a tad exciting. I expect to hear again from my dress maker in mid April. I also told her about etsy.com. She loved the idea of it and was very positive about wanting to list stuff on-line. I think it will be ideal for her.

After dropping off the fabric I went down to the shops on the bypass. Ones I don’t get to very often because they are so far the other side of the city it tends to take over 40 minutes to get there through town. I went in to Range. I’ve never been there before and I am impressed by their stationary and craft section. If I was desperate they also had yarn, although it was either very bland or very novelty. Anyway I went to look for wedding invites. I wanted to make my own, but cutting out windows on around 80 items was not something I would call fun. I managed to find spray mount, and a new craft knife with extra blades. (give me anything sharp and I’ll have fun for hours, ask my mum about that and me quietly playing with scissors whilst she decorated. One very holey dress later…. I was only 3)

I also found some cards with 3 square windows 99p for 20. I can line them with an internal paper layer which I can print on a normal printer and spray mount that in to the card with a decorating layer in front of the windows. I’ve added it up and I may just be able to make 80 invites in around £30 including all tools and paper. Hoorah! Now all I have to do is mock one up and get Scotty approval. Here’s hoping I can get that posh clean and spangly look I’m aiming for 80 times over.

5 comments

  1. We tried making some of our own invitations and they were nice but difficult to replicate x 100. So we went to a local wedding shop and asked them, the result was unspectacular especially when they got upwards of £500!

    We found some really nice one’s at Debenhams for half the price, I hope they will do the trick!


  2. One of my colleagues got hers done on etsy.com by http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=5060494 this shop. Those have set her back about £150 for 50 but they are THE most beautiful things I have ever seen and they come as a full set of invites and table settings and thankyou cards. If I was not going to do it myself I would have gone to etsy too. I may still have to!


  3. You’ll have to post pics of your finished cards, they sound really cool. And have you named your car yet? Cars HAVE to have a name…..


  4. no I’ve not named the car yet, although vroom springs to mind. I promise I will post pictures of the cards.


  5. If you wanted, you can plough it back into eBay – there’s loads of stuff, interesting wedding favours and really cheap purchase of stuff to make your own. That’s where I found the personalised guitar picks for my parents’ wedding.



Leave a Reply

