h1

Lovely long weekends *aaaahhh*

November 12, 2008

people have even commented this morning at work that I looked well rested. That’s because I did almost nothing!

Babysitting, I went on my own and as Thursday night is knit night, I knitted and watched TV. It all went off without a hitch and the two darlings only coughed once and rolled back to sleep. I did not take any chances disturbing them. I since spoken to my brother and they had one of the worst nights for some time when one of them awoke at 2am, another at 3 and both stayed up till 4am.. Nice. Now tell me why I don’t have kids.

Anyhew Friday and Saturday were cleaning days. We defrosted the slightly frozen over freezer. It went quicker than I hoped and it was well worth it. Other cleaning was done but I’m not saying what because its already a mess again and looks like we did nothing. Although the 7 piles of washing surely speak some towards what we achieved. The rest was spent knitting and playing computer games.

Now I love lego batman but there is one kit we just cant get and that means we’ve let the game go. Its stuck in the middle of a no-repeat section of a level which is mighty frustrating. Instead Scotty has been playing fallout3 which I am finding a whole lot more entertaining than I thought I would. The fun starts right at the beginning when you get to choose your name as a child. There is a lot of hunting in dark corners for things, and most of the fights are not *BLAM BLAM BLAM BLAM* you get the idea. With the freeze framing technique it tends to break the fighting up enough for it not to be too intense, although the weird creatures that can sneak up on you are mighty quick and I have jumped out of my skin a few times. Thank goodness I don’t have to sew myself back in. I must state though, this is no kids games. I laugh at the gore but with an ewww look on my face when the slow motion playback follows a head that has been blown in to several pieces, as it rolls away. Amazing graphics, very macarbre and well worth it if you’re not going to get nightmares from seeing dead boddies lying around or even hung up a lot. Yes its a sick grim shooty game, but we’re amassing good karma and being nice and its fun to be nice in a nasty game. Oh yes.

Saturday afternoon we went back to my brothers to spend the afternoon with the family. The aim was to go to the fireworks at £5 per car ish I think. Anyway we ate dinner and had some fun with the kids but decided not to stand outside in the cold and occasional rain. Instead we went and visited Erasmus. Now residing in powder form on mouse hold hill in Norwich we sat in our lovely warm car watching the fireworks go off all over Norwich. They were everywhere. We only stayed for about 10 minutes, got bored, drove home and settled in for the evening.

Sunday I did the weekly, or in my case bi-monthly shop from tescooos. Goodies bought we then stayed in all sunday afternoon, evening and ALL Monday. We did not leave the house. One sunday roast and a loaf of bread made. Lots of relaxation, some knitting and lots of cat cuddling are what makes a very serene me.

4 comments

  1. New design! I must have missed the memo!

    Mine was very similar to yours, minus the knitting. I caved in, bought Fallout 3, Fable 2 and Gears of War 2. Granted they are a fighty type game, I haven’t been able to tear myself away from them! Fallout 3 rocks, I take it you have seen it’s predecessor Oblivion?


  2. not that I remember, although its never me who plays the shooty games. Always Scotty. This is the first one I think in many many years I actually ask him when he’s going to play it next so I can sit and knit and watch. Better than the before christmas filler telly. Plus he’s found his dog now too!


  3. Haha, I have found that games these days have very good narratives and even if I wasn’t playing I would enjoy watching the story unfold.

    Oblivion itself is made by the same people and features a HUGE gaming world to explore. Instead of being post-apocalyptic DC, it’s almost medieval. If Scott hasn’t already, take a look, it’s quite cheap:

    http://www.find-games.co.uk/B001FB56KM.htm


  4. That sounds good, lots and lots of relaxing.



Leave a Reply

