h1

time out, just what was needed.

December 31, 2008

I’ve been off work since Christmas eve. I’m loving it, I’m getting stuff done and lazing about like no other. Just today I got up and had a cup of tea and now I’ve come back to bed. Its complete decadence and laziness but I have no need to be bouncing off the walls cleaning and tidying and trying to fit everything in.

On Christmas eve I nipped around to Sue and took some Christmas cards. I realized after I left I probably moaned far too much about work but made her feel like it was nice for her not to be there so she did not have to get all involved in the bla bla of it all. It was nice to see her again and good to hear she is healing well.

I made a nut roast. I actually thought I completely fluffed it by making it way too wet. I cooked it for over an hour. I used cashews, hazelnuts, brazil nuts, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds and bread crumbs. I made a vegetable layer with parsnips, butternut squash, garlic, shallots and pine nuts and herbs. I spread over a layer of cranberry and redcurrant sauce and dropped in some cooked chestnuts. I also made the cranberry and redcurrant sauce myself. I made it a few weeks back but it did not fully set. I bought another bag of cranberries and re-cooked the sauce and added a bit of cinnamon. It was divine, thick and gloopy too just how it should be.

Christmas day was lovely. Scotty and I headed over early to my brothers house. Early for us is getting there for 10am. The usual present swaps and hanging about playing with things occurred. Everyone loved every present from each person. We all made a great effort this year to get each other what we wanted and it all went down well. Dad was very very happy with his scarf and I am sad to say I did not get a photo with him wearing it. I will do at some point. He left it draped over his shoulders nearly all day. We scored lots of wonderful things, some of which have been photographed… If you take that link you’ll also find some of my current knitting progress 🙂

Scotty bought me a new camera YAY! I loved my little canon ixus. I needed one to replace it because I kept it on me at all times in my handbag and used it until it nearly died. I bought Scotty little big planet and forbidden lego. We came back with a metric tonne of chocolate and booze and a lovely box of very fattening biscuits. I got a paintable pig, Scotty got a “let the wookie win”lego t-shirt. I think its the first time in a few years where I’ve given so much but received so much too. I think we all paid less this year too. It was more the fact that the items we got were plentiful but large-ish so that it made our bags look fuller.

Lunch was wonderful. I was amazed how well the nut roast went down, it was cooked for another hour wrapped in foil. Everyone had some and my little niece Izzy had 3rd helpings of the cranberry and redcurrant sauce. I left the two jars there for everyone to fight out who would have them.

We played with the kids and their toys. Tommy getting a hot wheels auto ramp looping toy thing and Izzy with her baby anabelle. Ewan got lots of goodies as did Bethan. I tried on Bethan’s Koodie and she proclaimed that she adored it and wanted it finished. I was unsure of the shape but it went down so well even though it was an ad-hoc creation. I seem to be doing something right.

All in all we may have missed mum and there were a few lip wobbles, we all enjoyed it for her and we are proud to be together as a family.

I’m trying to break this up in to manageable chunks so the rest of our break will be covered in another post. Merry Christmas all, although belated I have thought of each of my lovely friends and readers (those of you I know come regularly). I do mean to keep in touch more but I have enjoyed this break not just from blogging but from bothering to send cards and keeping to any appointments at all. I’ve had nothing planned and it has worked out to be wise, relaxing and well worth doing. I hope nobody is offended by this and understands that sometimes, tuning out, switching off and detachment from the world is a really nice way to get mind body and spirit back on track ready for the new challenges of a new year.

more updates soon. I may even get around to some stories from our honeymoon next year!

Leave a Reply

