h1

feelin groovy.

February 12, 2009

most things are going better now. I’m almost back to normal. Working hard and enjoying having lots to do at work.

I’ve done so many little things since or during my week off that I’m not sure I’m going to be able to put it all down here without drowning you in info.

I completed a pair of socks in a week. Crikey. They are the best thing ever and I even got to wear them on my birthday. I love the yarn that Bockstark sent me and they are wonderful socks. Flickr has photos, here’s a snippet: (click image for other photos)
mount sockage!

I cleaned the kitchen, damn it needed it. I took my time whilst I was off, it was worth it.

The sinusitis is nearly gone. I cant say its completely removed. The antibiotics seem to have just about worked. I’m feeling more normal now. I spent most of the week dizzy and slightly queasy from the sinus infection. Most of it has gone now and I don’t have half as much whistling in my ears.

Daddy came over on the Wednesday of last week which was lovely. We both cried our eyes out but it got a lot out in the open that we needed and I suddenly realised, mum would not want me to be so sad. No matter how much I miss her I need to get on and look forward. A hard lesson but now I truly feel it may have been learned.

Saw the family on Saturday. We went over to Dad’s house. I got some lovely pressies. A loaf tin from Dad. A book on quick and healthy veggie cooking from my brother. Then some BEAUTIFUL yarn from my sister from the aplaca farm in her village. Plus a wedding book completed by her husband M, who took the wedding photos. It nearly made me cry it was that lovely.

Sunday I woke up in a mood to cook. Not any ordinary cookery mood either. I nipped to the shops and stocked up on a few items to make sure I had what I needed. I started by making a veggie bolognese sauce with red wine for pies and pasta and kept some back for lunch with a puff pastry pie crust. The rest was stored for later in the week.

Then I got all the root veg out of the fridge and did quorn chicken pieces and root veg stew with cider YUM and cheshere cheesy herb dumplings. This was dinner later. The rest of this also got stored. Then veggie sausage rolls to use up the puff pastry…Once all that was done it got to about 2pm we had lunch and I went for a nap. I was exhausted.

When I got up the urge to cook was still with me. I then made deep chocolate Victoria sponge with cream filling and large chocolate buttons on top. If that was not enough I then also made some lemon ginger and coconut cupcakes. Oh and Scotty made a loaf of bread. Really food for the rest of the week and cakes for me to take in to work.

 belated birthday lemon ginger coconut cupcakes

Monday, I took ALL the cakes in to work and they didn’t even last until lunch time. It was like gannets at my desk. I was very very proud of myself for home baking all the cakes and got so many great compliments. I did save a little back for Scotty but I’m just going to have to bake another one soon. Its his birthday too soon.

Leave a Reply

