h1

crikey

April 15, 2009

naughty me… I’ve been doing so much and writing so little

Scotty and I spent a day in the back garden and after a few small purchases from a garden retailer we stocked up and potted as many vegetables as we could. I kept well away from cauliflowers and broccoli that we attempted last year. This year we have our regular stock of herbs and then courgettes, bok choi, beetroot, one small strawberry, butternut squash and potatoes grown in a converted bin. We even planted fresh cat grass for our boys. The last years crop completely died out.
making a potato planter
A sunday planting session

knitting has almost died a death with me. I’ve not even made it to knit club in weeks. I think I still love it but I got stuck at the armpits on the jumper. The shawl I was doing simply does not add up and the poor thing is waiting for me to have enough patients to sit down for a good couple of hours and count religiously until I can get it all to a working number. Not at all fun. I did however complete two iphone cosies for my new fabulous white iphone. One to wash and one to wear.
I’ve got photos on the PC at home but I’m doing this in my lunch break.

I’ve seen the family two weekends running. My gran came up to visit with my aunt and very kindly gave each of us a bit of money which has been fired directly at our hopefully ever decreasing mortgage. Not huge amounts but big enough to make me feel better. I don’t need her money but apparently neither does she so its gone to good use.

I found out the posh sushi place in toombland Norwich does takeaway.. no really. That was the best £30 (for two) I’ve ever spent on takeaway food. I just LOVE sushi. I get cravings but only once in a while. Its a good job, its way too expensive to buy regularly.

I managed to shrink in to a pair of “hopeful” size trousers in the past week. It’s only taken 8 ish years since I bought them. They were only £2. Bargain even though I’ve now only worn them once.

I’ve had a big new project at work. Some comparison of ID against what sits in one database against another and against asset and all that gubbins. Nothing that can be done by a computer because none of the systems inter-relate. Once I’d finished the task I then had to re-write the process. Good fun but a real mind bender. Something to stick on my CV me thinks.

I had a day trip to Cambridge for work. I wish it was as nice as it sounds but I was in the office from 8.30am until 3.15. harsh, I came straight home for a nap.

This past bank holiday has been wonderful. I started sewing a pair of trousers for myself on Friday. We went shopping in town on Saturday for new shoes for Scotty then had a marathon movie session with finding nemo and quantum of solace. The movie may not be the best for cohesive plot but the action is great on blue ray. Then I had a bit of a cooking frenzy in the evening.

Sunday I supplied the family with the nut roast I cooked the night before. We all went for lunch at my brothers house. Then went on to Felbrigg hall local to him to take the kids on a question trail egg hunt. It was great fun and nice to see all the family having a day out together, even the dog could join in to a point. Shumba is fast becoming a very loved part of our family.

Monday I got back to the sewing machine and completed my trousers. I’m happy mostly but the waist band is terrible. It does not hold correctly and the internal stuff for stiffening I bought appears to be the wrong sort and has caused scrunching. Apart from that they were wearable on Monday for work which means I spent the whole day going round asking people if they liked my new red trousers… and that I made them. I am such a smug ba*”&$%tard.

Now I’ve got a few plans in the making. An early May holiday which the cats are now booked in for their holiday too but also their yearly jabs before their holiday. Speaking of which Otis and Jasper are good some nights but last night I could have booted them both out the top floor window. I am not good when I’ve not had enough sleep and its all their fault. If you want to see our boys visit Flickr, their latest photos are during mid groom here.

Other plans include the yearly car tax and service in May. Excitamente!

2 comments

  1. That Japanese place in Tombland is my favourite!!!! Shiki, I think its called. Delicious. I used to go there as often as I could afford it 🙂 *drools*


  2. thats the one.



Leave a Reply

