h1

hello *tap tap* is this thing on?

May 13, 2009

ah. well, we’ve been on holiday. I have no better excuses. Lots has been happening but very little blogging. I havent even put any photos on flickr for ages.

firstly I’ve had two great visits to my family. A great bbq, and also my brother installing a tyre rope swing in his woods which is just fabulous. Very fun and only slightly scary.

Our lovely week and a bit off work ended up being a very large splurge and means that we’ll not be buying any new toys for a while. Most enjoyable, splashing the holiday cash. Not something I do without saving for first.

 I took the cats to the cattery. They appeared to have a good time there although we missed them I’m not sure they really missed us. They even had a quick checkup at the vets and were doing fine.

I drove to Southampton 7.5 hours on a Friday afternoon of a bank holiday weekend. It was not fun at all. Spent some lovely time with the in laws and all of Scotty’s family. Another bbq and playing with nieces. A trip to Ikea, which was my very first and purchased some new house furniture. Then a really good ride back home early bank holiday Monday.

We even picked up the cats the same day, got home and collapsed. After a couple of days bimbling about and sorting ourselves out we took a day trip to London on the train. I wanted to go and find my new handbag. I then also bought a new laptop bag which is not the same colour but they’re a good set together. Scotty and I walked for miles around London and visited the British museum and the tate modern and stayed out for dinner because the off peak tickets meant we needed to leave later. We went for Yo Sushi, which was a new experience and amazingly cheaper than I expected.

The garden is coming along nicely. Something is eating some of my veggie plants and its a phantom night eater. Other than that the spuds are sprouting all over the place. Herbs are in abundance and everything else is ticking over and will probably not grow big enough to fruit this year but it is still very early.

Otis has taken to being a pain in the arse when it comes to eating. If he does not like the food he will stand and moan at you CONSTANTLY every few seconds. I annoyed him the other night by being nice and still not feeding him the other food he wanted. Eventually I saw him huff at me. No kidding this cat had one frustrated strop which was just not being listened to. Poor fella. At least he’s not the night scratcher which leads us to…. Jasper. Now where Otis is annoying on food Jasper is lovely and just gets on with it. Where Otis is lovely at night and settles well on the bed, Jasper is the complete oposite and spends several hours of the night running in to the bathroom, scratching the cupboards and running away because he knows I’m going to reach for the spray bottle. The spray bottle has become a game to him. This is not good because I then have lots of broken little patches in my nights sleep and I am queen of sleep and would like to have an unbroken night some time soon. Any suggestions gratefully appreciated. Please understand I cant shut them out of the bedroom because they would just scratch the bedroom door. I cant then shut them out of upstairs because the house is just not built like that.

On to the lovely Ikea things we bought. We’ve got a new side board thingy table under the telly that looks fab. Then a new set of stools and a bar for the kitchen. Then after all the handbags, train tickets, meals out for family and cinema tickets for my sisters husband for his birthday and us of course. I’m mostly spent out. We went to see Star Trek and having been a fan for most of my life I love this new movie. I really do like most of what Zachary Quinto does. I think he’s a great actor and makes a very good Spock.

Then Scotty went out on Sunday after all the splurging and bought himself a canon 5D, which I must admit appears to be a great investment of money but a WHOLE LOT MORE than I was intending on spending this month. Still we’re quite the modern couple and his money is still his money and then I get to play with all his toys. YAY!

plans for next month include a car service. ARGH!! and catching up with the knitting. Not much of it mind you. The sweater has stalled at the first sleeve. BUT the beautiful shawl is slowly turning in to a giant bed spread…. More on that next time and I hope that will be sooner rather than later.

One comment

  1. hmmm, my only suggestion for the night-time cat mayhem is to swap him for a rabbit… but that’s not especially helpful is it?!!!

    Maybe if you ignore him for a few nights, he’ll give up his ‘game’?



Leave a Reply

