h1

making use of lost time.

November 12, 2009

still catching up on blog posts I should have done in the last month or so. Nearly there though so bear with me.

*gurrrr*

Sorry. That was my best bear impression.

So, I had a visit to my brother’s house and Scotty did not come with because he was feeling the cold after I had it. It was the weekend of the clocks going back so we all gained an extra hour. I brought a pumpkin over to carve for the kids. It was a stunning day so first we went out to pick sloes and enjoy the nice but slightly cold autumnal day. We saw a barn owl swooping through the field we walked through moments before. The twins were great and held the tubs nice and tight and picked leaves out whilst we filled them with Sloes. Then when we got back I carved a ghostie in to my pumpkin and my brother attacked a blue squash which was very hard indeed and managed to carve a really good face in it. They were both set up outside on the patio and had little nightlight candles in them that we could see from the dining room window. My brother has taken photos but he’s not sent them to me yet. The whole evening was topped off with reading Dr Seuss Fox in Socks to Izzy. Them words completely made my tongue tingle!

So after a thoroughly beautiful day I got in to the car, cranked up classic FM (yeah, my car just kind of suits classical. Wierd but the Honda civic just does not sound right with most other music) and started to pull out of my brothers driveway, fully relaxed and happy. Lights on, because it’s in the deep countryside with no street lights. Just as I pull out of the drive a dog runs past me. OK slightly worrying, I stop the car turn off the engine and another dog zips past the car. At this point I’m a little worried and wind down the window to check there are no other mad creatures dashing about in the dark. Except I didn’t wind the window down fully. Then tried to stick my head out of the window. OH dear. My nose had a bruise for two weeks and I still have a little scar on the bridge and I swear I must have broken it on the sharp(ish) edge of the window. Made me just a little bit dizzy and confused. I drove on slowly, lights back on. Then saw the neighbour who thanked me for watching out for his dogs. I did not stop or say anything, just waved.

The good thing with all this is I did have Monday as holiday. I planned to go with my lovely big sister to Sprowston Manor for a spa day with massage. Except on Sunday she did not turn up for the family get together and when calling her I could hear exactly why. She had a nasty case of fluey cold and she was no way in any fit state to “pamper” herself at a spa. Except when I found out it was Sunday night and there was no way I was going back to work on the Monday to re-arrange my holiday. So instead I had one of those very rare treats indeed, a whole day to myself.

The only issue was I was hiding two rather bruised eyes near the nose area and hid indoors all day, but I did make full use of my time off. I made curtains. Firstly I took down the blind in the bedroom because it was starting to fray at the edges. I then tried to fit the curtain rail we bought a while back and amazingly it fitted JUST RIGHT including using the old screws and raw plug holes that were there for the bar that held up the blind. Hoorah no.1 🙂

Then I pootled on down to my crafting room. I just LOVE having a crafting room. Set up the sewing machine and completed a pair of curtains I started some time back. I did it all back to front as usual. Because I found an old sheet that had already been used as curtain lining before in mums massive stash of fabric, I also found some lovely plain curtain fabric too and just the right amount, even the right width too. Because the lining was already hemmed I seamed the hem level in to the curtains and left the top of the curtains till last. I also found in the bountiful stash that mum left me, just enough curtain tape for gathering the curtains properly. One quick measure and a few more lines of straight sewing and they were done. I then found one of the other things mum gave me at my last house, a small packet of curtain hooks. It was all there every single bit I needed under my nose, exactly the right number of hooks that matched the rail we bought months back. That day sewing she was completely with me, watching over my shoulder. Still nagging a little as I chose to do it my way instead of hers but thoroughly with me when I got it right. Now I go to bed every night, and just before climbing in I draw the curtains that I made, that mum tought me how to make and all those years watching her bent over the sewing machine has rubbed off. It reminded me that I am still very much a part of her, let alone her being a part of me. I’m proud to have picked up even an ounce of her skills.

Apart from that I spent the rest of the day spinning the very beautiful grey black and white marled alpaca floof that AM and I got at the knit and stitch show. I nearly did half a bag, approx 100G but not enough to ply. Still a very highly achieved day over all and the smugness still abounds me now, months later!

 

One comment

  1. I am glad you knew your mama was there… and I bet she giggled sympathetically at your bruised nose 🙂
    {{hug}}



Leave a Reply

