h1

other things I should catch up on.

October 27, 2008

Thursday last week Mary came to visit for the evening. I went to the station and we took a cab home, then I drove to knit night. We stopped and had Pizza first and then got together with the ladies for a quick knit. We could not stay long but it was lovely to spend some time with Mary and allow her to get out and about a little. It was exactly two months since my wedding day and we had a good chat about how it all was. She reminded me what a beautiful wedding I had because lately its more about loosing mum and she did confirm one thing I was wondering about. Mum did not look or have any outlying proof that she would be dead within the week of my wedding day. Amazingly I found that heartening. She was amazing, right to the end. I am just about at the stage now where I can appreciate how special she is and was, and how great a wedding day I had. I have to thank good friends like Mary for that, reminding me its not all about missing them, its about celebrating and spending what time we can with friends.

Anyway on to other weekend and all that activities. Saturday we washed the cats, they were getting a bit stinky and needed it. Photos are on flickr and in that post down there that was dropped in by flickr. The boys were amazing and accepted the light warm raining that Scotty gave them. No loud meows, no struggling and both were very happy after that they were clean, fluffy and looking handsome.

I baked some more and made two batches of cakes. One fully successful and the other not so much. Lemon ginger cupcakes were fab. Carrot and sultana not so much. The lemon ones were so good I baked a second batch on Sunday just to take to the family.

Saturday night I went out! SHOCK HORROR! Anne-Marie who blogs too, was at knitting night but I never got a chance to catch up with her. She’s getting married in December so we have a lot to talk about. I met her at the local pub and we drank chatted and knitted at the same time. I enjoyed it lots and I would love to have a pub knitting group. Next time I must remember not to take the lace knitting. Far too complicated whilst chatting and drinking.

Sunday we went over to the coast and all the kids and my brother and sister were there. Dad pulled out all the stops and managed to cook a full chicken and veggie roast for 11 people. A couple of us pitched in a little but it was mostly his doing. He has confirmed he had a lovely time on holiday with the twins and my brother. I unfortunately was feeling all out of sorts and left early before anyone could tell me if they liked my cakes. We were off on a walk down the sea front and only ladies can understand that lurching feeling when you’re not prepared for your bodies functions.

Which brings me neatly on to my personal body issues. PLEASE if you don’t want to hear about ladies things wait for the next update. bye! go on, you really don’t need to read it.

The doc placed me on the pill just before the wedding. The first two months were a bit heavy and PMT is getting worse. This month I was almost a week late and it threw me. I’ve also noticed more headaches just before I come on. It should not upset me much but, on top of dealing with grief, a full time job and a house, family, cats and husband the period nearly broke completely. I’m in less control and I cant feel what my body is up to like I used to. I’m not sure I want to stay on the pill BUT it does bring a few small advantages which I’m sure i don’t want to give up yet. The only option is to go and talk to the doctor about it. Anyway, its not a killer but I am worried that one day I may shout at the wrong person at the wrong time and do the silly thing I did last week and tell someone to shut up or I’ll stamp on their foot. Not the worst thing, but my mind was properly thinking of poking out their eyes with a knitting needle. I’d never do either thing so daft but I may be stupid enoug to say I would. Someone needs to create a tongue peg to stick on and shut me up on those days where I have no self control. I can see me with a sticker over my mouth with a disclaimer on it. “removal of this sticker will lead to insults, and outbursts of annoyance, proceed with caution”

5 comments

  1. hmmm, they usually want you to stick with a pill for at least 6 months to give your body time to adjust to it – but after that, if its still not good, you could try a different pill.

    I tried 3 different ones before I found the perfect one for me… of course, then I moved to Australia where they don’t have ‘my’ pill so I’ve had to go back to one I know isn’t as well suited to me.

    F***ing annoying, no doubt about it.


  2. I tried several pills over the years, with wildly varying effects on me. A lot of them killed my libido (an effective contraceptive, but not quite what I was hoping for!). I ended up doing some research on the levels of the different hormones in different pill brands and figured out which hormone was causing me the problem. Then I went to the family planning people and said, I need this brand of pill and here’s why. They took me seriously, gave it to me, and I’ve been fine and dandy ever since. Maybe do some reading up on the differences between brands?


  3. I’m not sure I could cope with working out the type of hormones by myself. And yes I think its killed my libido too. Still I am willing to give it the six months it needs. I have an apt with the doc next Friday now to discuss it.


  4. if you do get those stickers, can I have a batch?

    must be weird trying to sort out which of the various symptoms you’re getting are the Pill, the grief, the settling back at home after a holiday, adjusting to the idea of being married (as opposed to planning a wedding), the mortgage stress, the nights drawing in and however many other factors you’re balancing at the moment.

    It was lovely to see you, still recovering from the holiday a bit.


  5. very good point indeed, which is why I’m not trying to work it out. I’m happily dealing with most stresses and the grief knowing that at least I’m not watching mum suffer any more. The no wedding plans is a huge bonus but I do feel like I should still be sorting myself out. The libido may just be grief but it is sadly slightly worrying. I’ve informed Scotty we’re just going to have to pretend to make babies because I heard you need sex 3 or 4 times a week AT LEAST to try for a child. I’m happy to pretend! Just not at the sake of eating properly, keeping down my job and making sure the cats dont starve. Where is this work life balance that we are all meant to have?



Leave a Reply

